Elly Griffiths

Sara Reeve

Acclaimed crime author Elly Griffiths worked in publishing before becoming a full-time writer. She is best known for her bestselling Dr Ruth Galloway series, and is also the author of The Brighton Mysterseries, set in the 1950s and ’60s and is inspired partly by her grandfather’s life on the stage.

In 2018 Elly wrote her first standalone novel The Stranger Diaries. The novel was a top 10 paperback bestseller, selected for the BBC Radio 2 Book Club, as a summer 2019 Richard and Judy book and won the Edgar Award for Best Novel in the USA. Her second standalone The Postscript Murders followed and her third standalone Bleeding Heart Yard published to glowing reviews in October 2022.

In spring 2019, Elly published her first children’s book A Girl Called Justice to great reviews. The fourth published in May 2022.

Elly Griffiths lives near Brighton with her husband, an archaeologist. She is number 18 on the list of most borrowed authors from UK libraries and is hugely in demand for events, regularly holding audiences spellbound.

See Elly Griffiths at

Back to speakers

Newsletter Sign up

Sign up to receive news and information about the Isle of Wight Literary Festival.